Making the World a Better Place

Seems to me that going to confession as a youngster did not impress upon me the action that I did was wrong or harmful to myself or others.  Instead, I was given a Hail Mary and an Our Father to say.  After saying the penance required, I was ‘guilt-free’ or so I thought and often went out and did whatever it was that brought me in the congressional to begin with.

I believe that this type of confession taught me 2 things: 1) that no one else knew about my actions or inactions but the priest and therefore there was no embarrassment on my part and 2) that there at the confessional is where I could go to ‘hide’ what I did that harmed another.   It seems, in the long run, I never did forgive nor forget those things myself as I still felt the guilt and the shame.

As I began to really look at my life when much older and the actions that I did that were harmful to others, I saw the need to do more than just ‘repent’.  I saw that those harmful actions actually recoiled on myself one way or the other.  Call it Karma or the Cosmic Law, I began to feel the effects of what I had done to others and therefore to myself.  I needed to make amends or take responsibility for those actions.  If it was something that I did to hurt another, then I made an attempt to apologize to that person and made proper restitution.

We are not perfect people.  I believe we are basically good.  I believe we come from God and go back to God.  I believe that everyone that looks at life (really looks at things around them and the life of others they are around) can always find something that they can do to help to make this world a better place to live.  Perhaps applying the Golden Rule is what I’m getting at.  I have found a successful action-asking myself ‘would I like someone to do that very thing to me?’

Check out this simple truth and let me know what you think, okay?

 

 

About Mary Rensberry Author at QuickTurtle Books®

There ARE solutions and answers, miracles, so to speak in life. This is my personal spiritual journey of living beyond the Catholic, Baptist & Non-denominational Churches yet finding strength and confidence in who I AM today, a spiritual being. I have a condition called scoliosis, a curvature of the spine, but it doesn't define me. In fact, I am not my body. I am a spiritual being. I am a spirit operating at this time in my body. With your comments, prayers and most wonderful positive thoughts we can all become more able and successful so that we can transform our lives and live 'heaven on earth'. A miracle! I've written several books published through our business, QuickTurtle Books®. Among them are: I AM SPIRIT, The ABC's of an Ideal Spirit Christmas Christmas Everyday My Successes & Wins Journal Colors Talk Nature's Gift to Humanity Fowl Art II Fowl Art Listen Wake's Day It's Black and White, A Turtle Quest for the Ages/Navigating the ADHD Controversy
This entry was posted in Christmas Everyday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the World a Better Place

  1. Pingback: Nazarene Commentary Matthew 5:1-12 Nazarene Mountain teachings: Blessed and legal commentaries | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

